Eggplant Parm

I decided to make Eggplant Parmesan for the meatless Monday meal this week. It turned out so good! I stole a recipe from a blog called, Table for Two.

First, I cut the eggplants (I used 2) into 1/2 inch slices. Then I laid  the eggplant slices on paper towels and covered with paper towels, in order to soak up all the moisture from the eggplant.

image

I let the eggplant sit for about 40 minutes.

After, it was breading time! I spread 2 cups of panko crumbs, some Italian seasoning and a dash of salt and pepper on a plate and then mixed 1 cup of milk and 1 egg in a bowl. Next, I dipped the eggplant slices one by one in the milk and egg mixture and then breaded with panko crumbs. I set the pieces aside on aluminum foil.

image

After, I poured 3 tablespoons of oil (whichever you prefer) in a frying pan and turned on high. I placed 2 or 3 pieces into the pan and fried for about 2 minutes on each side.

image

After I fried the pieces of eggplant, I poured a thin layer of marinara (I also used a small amount of white garlic sauce) into a baking pan. I then layered the baking pan with eggplant pieces. Between each layer, I poured marinara sauce and sprinkled some Parmesan and mozzarella cheese.

After I finished the layering, I sprinkled a little more cheese on top and then put the meal in the oven. Bake for 20-25 minutes, or until the cheese is bubbly and brown on top. I used the broiler for 5 minutes to get the cheese nice and brown – you don’t have to, but if you do, watch it carefully!

image

I put the eggplant slices on top of spiralized zucchini and I served with a healthy salad. Such a delicious meal!

image

This recipe will not disappoint!

I hope everyone has an amazing weekend! 😊

Motto of the day:

“A day without laughter is a day wasted.”
― Nicolas Chamfort

 

 

Published by

A. Tuttle

A girl in her thirties who's enjoying every minute of life! Travel, food and fashion are a few of my favorite things! I also cannot get enough of the outdoors and music! I hope you enjoy reading about the things I love most!

One thought on “Eggplant Parm”

Leave a Reply

