Yummy Stuffed Shells

I’m an Italian girl at heart so I love me some Italian food. I made ricotta cheese stuffed shells for one of the dinner meals for this week.

Here is all of the ingredients I used:

image

Ingredients:

1 box of jumbo pasta shells

1 32 oz. container ricotta

2 cups shredded mozzarella

1 cup shredded Parmesan

2 cups of fresh spinach, chopped

1 large egg, lightly beaten

Salt and pepper

1 teaspoon Italian seasoning

Pinch of ground thyme

Pinch of garlic salt

1 26-oz. jar marinara sauce

1/2 cup of fresh parsley

1/2 cup of fresh basil

Next, cook pasta shells according to package label directions; drain and set aside to cool. While pasta cooks, in a large bowl, stir together ricotta, 1 cup mozzarella, Parmesan, spinach, egg, salt, pepper, thyme, parsley, basil and garlic salt.

image

Spread 3/4 cup spaghetti sauce over bottom of baking dish. Stuff shells with cheese-and-spinach mixture and place in dish.

At this point, you can freeze the meal for later or you can go ahead and cook for dinner. I decided to split the meal in half; I put half in the fridge for dinner during the week and I froze the other half for a meal later in the month.

If you decide to go ahead and cook the meal for dinner, you will want to pour the remaining sauce over shells and sprinkle with remaining 1 cup mozzarella.

Cover baking dish with foil and bake for 35 minutes. Remove foil and bake about 10 minutes longer, until bubbly and cheese begins to brown.

image

I served the shells with a Caesar salad and some garlic bread. The perfect combination!

I hope everyone is having a great Thursday aka Friday eve!

Motto of the day:

“Courage is the most important of all the virtues because without courage, you can’t practice any other virtue consistently.”
― Maya Angelou

 

Published by

A. Tuttle

A girl in her thirties who's enjoying every minute of life! Travel, food and fashion are a few of my favorite things! I also cannot get enough of the outdoors and music! I hope you enjoy reading about the things I love most!

Leave a Reply

